5 Stages Of Grief: Everything You Need To Know

Going through grief is a universal experience that touches each of us at some point in our lives. The journey through loss is never straight, and understanding the stages of grief can help analyze the process better.

Grief, in its essence, is a complex combination of emotions that arise in response to loss, be it the passing of a loved one, the end of a relationship, or a significant life change.

In this blog, we will explore the emotional processes accompanying loss. Grief is not a one-size-fits-all experience; it’s a deeply personal and often unpredictable passage.

By shedding light on the typical stages many encounter during grief, we hope to provide insights that foster understanding and empathy.

The stages of grief are not rigid steps but rather fluid phases that individuals may experience in varying sequences.

By recognizing the universality of grief and acknowledging its stages, we hope to offer solace and support to those on this journey of healing from their losses.

Who Discovered the 5 Stages of Grief?

The five stages of grief, commonly known as the Kübler-Ross model, were introduced by psychiatrist Elisabeth Kübler-Ross in her groundbreaking work “On Death and Dying,” published in 1969.

Kübler-Ross conducted extensive research by working with terminally ill patients, and her observations led to the identification of these stages as a framework for understanding the emotional responses individuals go through when facing impending death or dealing with profound loss.

The five stages are denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. Each stage represents a distinct emotional and psychological response, and Kübler-Ross emphasized that not everyone experiences these stages linearly or predictably.

Individuals may move back and forth between stages, skip certain stages, or revisit them differently.

Kübler-Ross’s model has been widely influential in the context of terminal illness and understanding grief and loss more broadly. It has provided a valuable framework for individuals, caregivers, and mental health professionals to comprehend and navigate the complex terrain of grief.

Over time, the model has evolved, with some variations recognizing additional stages in the grieving process.

Despite critiques and discussions about its applicability to various situations, the Kübler-Ross model remains a foundational concept in grief and bereavement.

What Are the Stages of Grief?

  1. Denial
  2. Anger
  3. Bargaining
  4. Depression
  5. Acceptance

Understanding the emotional landscape of grief involves a complex journey marked by distinct stages. Recognizing and understanding these stages can provide individuals with a framework for comprehending their feelings and reactions as they cope with loss.

1. Denial


In the initial stage of grief, denial acts as a shield against the overwhelming reality of loss.

Individuals may find it challenging to accept the truth, leading to a psychological state of disbelief. This can manifest as a refusal to acknowledge the occurrence of the event or a desire to block out the painful emotions associated with the loss.

Denial serves as a protective mechanism, allowing individuals to gradually absorb the impact of the loss at a pace their psyche can handle.

2. Anger


The stage of anger emerges as the emotional weight of the loss becomes more palpable. This intense emotion can be directed outward, involving blame and frustration towards external factors or individuals, or inward, manifesting as self-blame.

Anger is a natural response to the perceived injustice or unfairness of the situation. It signifies an essential step in the grieving process, providing an outlet for the complex emotions accompanying loss.

3. Bargaining


The bargaining stage involves attempts to negotiate, make deals, or seek compromises in a desperate effort to reverse or alleviate the loss.

Individuals may search for meaning, attempting to find ways to regain control over the situation. This phase can include making promises to a higher power or exploring hypothetical scenarios in which the loss might be undone.

Bargaining is characterized by a sense of vulnerability and a deep yearning for a resolution.

4. Depression


Depression marks a profound emotional response to the reality of the loss. It involves overwhelming sadness, regret, and a pervasive sense of despair.

During this stage, individuals may experience changes in appetite, sleep disturbances, and withdrawal from social interactions.

Depression in grief is a complex emotional state that reflects the deep impact of the loss on the individual’s emotional and mental well-being.

5. Acceptance


Acceptance, the final stage of grief, doesn’t imply the absence of sadness but rather a coming to terms with the new reality. It involves a gradual understanding that life will continue, and the pain of the loss will transform into a more manageable form of sorrow.

Acceptance allows individuals to integrate the experience of loss into their lives, fostering a sense of resilience and enabling them to move forward while preserving the memories of what has been lost.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What is the hardest stage of grief?

The hardest stage of grief varies for each individual. Still, many find that the depth of despair experienced during the depression stage can be particularly challenging.

How long does each stage of grief last?

The duration of each stage of grief is highly individual, and there’s no fixed timeline. People may move through the stages at their own pace, which can take weeks, months, or even years.

Is it possible to repeat the five stages of grief?

Yes, individuals can revisit or experience the stages of grief more than once, and the process is often cyclical. Grief is a unique and evolving journey; people may move through the stages differently over time.


In this blog, we have explored the five stages of grief that individuals often experience in case of loss—denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance.

The understanding that these stages are unique to each person’s experience is a crucial insight. Grief is a complex and individualized process that varies widely among individuals.

Acknowledging and accepting the emotional turbulence accompanying grief is vital in fostering resilience. While the stages provide a framework, the journey is not bound by a specific timeline. Each person navigates grief in their way, and the duration of each stage is fluid.

Understanding the stages of grief provides a compass, not a strict roadmap. It’s a tool to foster empathy, both for oneself and others who are grappling with loss.

By acknowledging the universality of grief while respecting its deeply personal nature, we open avenues for support, compassion, and healing.

Carlos Todd PhD LCMHC

Dr. Carlos Todd PhD LCMHC specializes in anger management, family conflict resolution, marital and premarital conflict resolution. His extensive knowledge in the field of anger management may enable you to use his tested methods to deal with your anger issues.


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *